Recent News

rider on road

rock wall

three riders

union cavalry

union at fence

On Monday, May 5, 2014, the Civil War Round Table of Western Missouri (CWRTWM) received the 2014 W.Z. Hickman Award for Historic Preservation from the City of Independence.  Accepting the award was Mick Calvert, CWRTWM 2014-05-05 wz hickman award-1President and Pat Gradwohl, CWRTWM First Vice-President.  Several CWRTWM members also attended the awards ceremony.

In 2001, the Heritage Commission developed an annual awards program to honor the challenges of preserving Independence’s rich heritage. These awards are intended to recognize the efforts of individuals, organizations, and projects that display an exemplary commitment to historic preservation in Independence.

In 2002, these awards were distinguished by the name “The W.Z. Hickman Awards for Historic Preservation,” in honor of the pioneering efforts of one of Independence’s first historic preservationists. In addition to being considered an authority on matters of local history, William Zere Hickman (1845-1921) also 2014-05-05 wz hickman award-2organized the “Old lainsmen’s Association” of 1909, who assisted the efforts of the Daughters of the American Revolution in marking the original path of the Santa Fe Trail. In 1916, he also led a citywide movement to see the 1827 Log Courthouse preserved and restored in Independence, for the benefit of future generations and in 1921 authored the book History of Jackson County.